Town of Blowing Rock Seal
Town of Blowing Rock Seal
Town of Blowing Rock Seal
Town Government
Helpful Links
Other Links

Tourism Development Authority

Board Members
Meeting Agendas
Meeting Minutes
Ordinance and Bylaws
TDA Strategic Plan

The Blowing Rock Tourism Development Authority consist of five (5) voting members, all appointed by the Town Council and voting residents and/or taxpayers of the Town. The Authority membership is made up of two (2) lodging establishment representatives, two (2) travel/tourism business/non-profit attraction/organization representatives and one (1) at-large representative. At least one (1) member of the Authority shall be a Town of Blowing Rock elected official.

Authority members shall be appointed to three (3) year staggered terms. Initially, one (1) member shall be appointed to serve a one-year term, two (2) members shall be appointed to serve a two-year term and two (2) members shall be appointed to serve a three-year term. Any vacancy occurring in Authority membership shall be filled with an appointment by the Town Council for the unexpired term.

In addition, the Town Finance Officer and the Town Manager shall serve as ex-officio members and will serve as finance officer and secretary respectively for the Authority.

The TDA shall have all of the powers and duties imposed by the enabling ordinance and shall promote, solicit, and encourage tourism in the Town of Blowing Rock in accordance with adopted Town plans/policies and administers the appropriation of the room occupancy tax proceeds. This Authority also studies the impact of tourism on the Town and develops strategies to minimize any negative impacts of tourism on the Town.

The TDA shall meet at least quarterly or as needed. All board meetings are open to the public. The Authority typically meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 3:30 p.m. in April, May, June, July, and October at Town Hall.

Board Members

Dean Bullis, Chairman, (Tourism Representative)
Term Expires: 2018

Lianne Mattar, (At-large Representative)
Term Expires: 2017

Rob Dyer, (Lodging Representative)
Term Expires: 2019

Doug Matheson, (Council Representative)
Term Expires: 2018

Lorry Mulhern, (Lodging Representative)
Term Expires: 2019

Designed by ARDI Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!